English

Our goal is to prepare students to become independent learners who are proficient in critical reading, critical thinking, writing, listening, and speaking.  Students will be taught in a positive, safe environment that stresses a work ethic. To pass, a student must demonstrate an improvement in or a mastery of goals by completing assignments on time.  Literature, composition, and communications will be presented in such a way as to encourage further exploration on the students’ part.  The goal is not only to educate, but also to create lifelong learners and encourage the love of reading and exploration of ideas.
100 English I 105 Oral Comm
Honors
110 Senior English
Self Directed
118,
119
Hon AP Eng
Comp I, II
129 Broadcast
Journalism
101 Honors English I 106 Honors Senior
Eng I
111 World Literature 120 Reading &
Writing
130 Adv. Broad.
Journalism
102 English II
Written Comp
107 Honors Senior
Eng II
112,
113
Am Lit I & II 121,
122
Humanities I, II 132 Public
Speaking
103 Oral
Communications
108 Honors/AP
English
114,
115
Hon Am Lit I & II 126 Creative
Writing
104 English II
Honors
109 Sen Eng
Teacher Dir
116,
117
Eng Lit &
Comp I, II
128 Print
Journalism

Announcements

Questionnaire for Seniors Seniors, to aid the Guidance office in keeping in contact with you, please click HERE to complete the questionnaire.  Thank You!

——————————————-

Class Supply List
Link to Class Supplies List

Grammar Help

Forbidden Four
problems to avoid with grammar

Grammar Web Sites

Punctuation Pattern Worksheet
9 sentence patterns to improve variety; how to punctuate

English Common Core
Homework Help

→Dictionaries/Thesauri
www.m-w.com
www.dictionary.com
www.onelook.com
www.thesaurus.com
www.thefreedictionary.com

 

→Homework Tips

Student Resource Links

ACT Online

ACT Question of the Day

Grammar Question of the Day

Poem a Day for High School

Poetry Daily

SAT Question of the Day

Saving your Google Docs
Seniors!  This video will help show you how to save your Goggle docs after you graduate

Today In Literature

Turnitin
Plagiarism checker

Vocabulary Word of the Day

Lange, Terra

Department Chair
tlange@mths.us

Boeker, Brad

Faculty
bboeker@mths.us

Cooper, Tabitha

Faculty
tcooper@mths.us

Fandel, Maureen

Faculty
mfandel@mths.us

Guzman, Kristi

Faculty
309-367-4151
kguzman@mths.us

Hicks, Annie

Faculty
ahicks@mths.us

McCormick, Kathy

Faculty
kmccorm@mths.us

Morrow, Justin

Faculty
jmorrow@mths.us

Murphy, Jenny

Faculty
jmurphy@mths.us

Sudbrink, Janine